Faith and the Promise of a Better Place

[Homily for the Jesuit Health and Wellness Center Community.  April 26, ’24.  RE: JOHN 14: 1-6]

From our Gospel today, we hear:

“Do not let your hearts be troubled” (John 14:1).

As there is so much trouble in the world: the West Philippine Sea, international allies maneuvering vs Chinese aggression, Ukraine vs Russian aggression, the possible re-armament of Russia by China, the challenge to humanitarian and democratic values in the world, Myanmar, political unrest in the Philippines – and the sweltering heat.

As “I used to be stronger, now I am less strong.”  “I used to be strong, now I am diminished.”

As there is illness, weakness, pain … inevitable prospect of “the hour of my death.” 

You have faith in God;  have faith also in me” (Jn 14:2).

In God:  The God who created us.  …you.  Who called you by name.

In me, sent by God to redeem you.  “I have come to bring you life, life to the life to the full”  (Jn 10:10).  “I have laid down my life for you” (Jn 10:17-18).

Part of the message is today’s Gospel:  “In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.  …. I go to prepare a place for you.  It is good to imagine what this would be like…How it would be to be in the presence of God, in the presence of the Creator… of his Son, our Redeemer, judge of heaven and earth, of the Holy Spirit in whom we are loved, in whom we are baptized, in whom we love.    We often refer to this as a “better place”, a place of pain relieved, of greater happiness, of profound ecstasy.

“I will come back and take you to myself so that where I am you also might be.  …” (Jn:14:2.3.)

In San Jose Seminary, in the 5th floor chapel of St. Joseph, there is an image of Jesus, Mary and Joseph:    not Jesus, Mary and Joseph in the nativity scene, nor fleeing to Egypt, not in Nazareth during the hidden life, where Joseph in Mary’s presence teaches Jesus the skills of carpentry.  but an image of:

Jesus, Mary, and the dying Joseph.  Rare.  Old.  An antique carving in wood whose faded colors are peeling off.  Still packing meaning:

Mary sitting on Joseph’s bed  “at the hour of his death”, looking into his eyes gratefully.

Joseph, lying down in the last moments of his earthly life, looking up into the eyes of Jesus.  

Jesus, grown, standing over Joseph, looking into his eyes.  What he says must have been something like what we heard in our Gospel

“I have come to take you to myself…so that where I am you also might be.”

This is the type of “Hour of Death” we pray for with every Hail Mary.

“I am the way, the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.  … (Jn 3:6)

About Joel Tabora, S.J.

Jesuit. Educator
This entry was posted in Homily and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment